ABA Therapy

Has anybody used ABA therapy for kids with Aspergers? How did it work?
  • I'm a behavior analyst and have worked with Aspie children. ABA-based programs are commonly used with all types of autistic children, including ones labeled with Asperger's. It is effective with Aspie children and this is well-documented by research.
  • My twins are in ABA and they have had AMAZING outcomes. They are both autistic not aspies. ABA can work on any kid on the spectrum with spectacular results! It has beginner intermediate and advanced curriculums that are designed for a broad range of skill sets. It has a 90% success rate of improving skills and a 50% chance to recover kids completely. Without BCBA's my kids would be locked into their world without any ability for self care and self direction. Go with Dave's advice he knows his profession. Not all therapists are made equal though you will have to find a good one to meet the needs of your child.
  • I think my husband has undiagnosed Aspergers and the ABA I have been taught to use on my kids has worked to improve my relationship with him. I would get it if you can! It will make a huge difference to your child!
  • Quoting Christine on the effectiveness of ABA:
    "a 50% chance to recover kids completely."

Upon hearing uttered an utterly fantastical statement such as this, one is reminded of the old adage, "Truth far stranger than any fiction."
  • ......backed up by personal experience
  • Actually, Christine's 50% statistic is not fantastical. This number comes from the famous research study by Ivar Lovaas that sparked the ABA-autism industry. In Lovaas's study he states that 47% of the autistic children that received an ABA program for 2 to 3 years were then indistinguishable from their neurotypical peers. You may view the actual research publication here: www.sceap.com/.../Lovaas.pdf