Hi All, Newbie here! Needs Advice.

My son is 3 years old and was diagnosed with Autism back in April. He is currently receiving 20 hours of ABA along with OT & Speech therapy. My son clearly has sensory issues and I was wondering if any of you experienced your child grinding their teeth and chewing on their clothing. My son has been doing this for months and I talked to this OT about it and all she suggested was to give her sugarless gum (which he won't even put near his mouth) and then she claimed she would work on some oral exercises with him, I haven't seen improvement. The grinding and the chewing on the clothing seem to be getting worse. I read about a possible chew toy but I am not sure how effective they are. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

[Updated on 9/23/2013 4:29 PM]
  • Have you investigated dietary support; a lot of behaviors can be eliminated with nutritional support and identification of incompatible foods.
  • LandonsMommy, anybody can say anything on the internet. I suggest that you be careful and critical when receiving advice online.

Jahki, a long-timer on this site, usually recommends dietary interventions, despite their lack of supporting scientific evidence, so I am not surprised to see Jahki make such a recommendation here. Jahki's statement of "a lot of behaviors can be eliminated with nutritional support and identification of incompatible foods" is Jahki's own belief - it is not a widely accepted or scientifically verified statement.