Hi All, Newbie here! Needs Advice.

My son is 3 years old and was diagnosed with Autism back in April. He is currently receiving 20 hours of ABA along with OT & Speech therapy. My son clearly has sensory issues and I was wondering if any of you experienced your child grinding their teeth and chewing on their clothing. My son has been doing this for months and I talked to this OT about it and all she suggested was to give her sugarless gum (which he won't even put near his mouth) and then she claimed she would work on some oral exercises with him, I haven't seen improvement. The grinding and the chewing on the clothing seem to be getting worse. I read about a possible chew toy but I am not sure how effective they are. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

[Updated on 9/23/2013 4:29 PM]
  • I don't think the newbie is getting any help here. amusement maybe, scared away perhaps.
    definitely not helping much. think of the new people folks. they need the help getting started the most. if you cant be kind to each other then think of the newbies.
    you feel the need to beat each other up get your own post ....or beat up on me instead if that makes you feel better. come to think of it, I haven't had a good ass beating in a long time now. im due.
  • Yes I agree with Domsdad is our newbie even still subscribed to this thread?