HELP! My son on the spectrum is crippled by his OCD

I am new to support groups. I hope you can help me! I have a 10 yr old son. Diagnosed ASD at 4. He did ABA therapy until he was 7 and we found sucess. Lately his OCD has become crippling. (Not letting me touch him, won't eat anything I make, will only eat off paper plates, using toothpicks instead of his fingers on the keyboard, won't use utensils)... Anyway, I am trying to start up ABA again, but I'm not sure if that's the path I should go down with these OCD issues. Advice from spectrum/OCD parents? Is ABA the right choice or should he start seeing a therapist?  Has anyone put their spectrum kids on OCD meds? Thanks so much!

• It's been so long since you wrote this I'm not sure if you're still looking for an answer. But.....

My son did ABA for quite a while. It has it's benefits, but ABA is not designed to address OCD issues. OCD is at heart an anxiety issue. ABA is designed to use demands to get behaviors. It honestly sounds to me  like that would probably make anxiety issues worse (I suppose with the slightly possible exception of performance/task initiation anxiety, for some people).

I would recommend a counselor before medication to deal with OCD, depending on how severe it is, but I have heard that medication can be helpful too. Each person is a little different so don't hesitate to keep track of what you've tried and do what works for your son.

Best wishes,

B

• Beryllium Fall has a good point about OCD being an anxiety issue. Speaking as an adult on the spectrum who also has OCD, the more stressed out I am, the worse my OCD gets, and the lower functioning I become in that situation, as a result. If you know a doctor familiar with Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, you might ask about trying that Point up