help I need it

My son has recently been diagnosed with Autism and the school he is in has recommeded us to put him in the Autistic unit. They feel his academic side to things are normal but eventually is emotional stress will overpower him and he will then not beable to function. I am at a crossroads as I feel that he is on the mild spectrum and he is able to communicate and by placing him in a class where the other kinds have severe symptoms, would this not hinder him. I am new to this so I dont want to offend anyone if my termenology is not correct. I am worried that he will be forgotten where he is and not pushed to be able to do his best. i get the feeling its alsmost like its a free pass. I hope someone out there has any answers because the lack of sleep the emotional stress of trying to figure out the answer is very difficult. What I leaning towards is keeping him in the class where he is and see how he goes. Is this unfair on him i really dont know what to do.

HELP!

All comments and suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Renee'
  • Only you can choose the path. The decisions that you make should be sound in mind and judgement. You should also be able to live with the decision as in the end you shall bear the consequences of the choice. The consequences may emerge or they may simply be hypothetical.
    My advice is to trust you heart and go with whatever choice you make. I have learnt that if you don't listen to your inner voice more often than not, you'll regret it.
  • I taught my son people skills (I know I've written this 100 times) so he could appear to be the same and hide behind the facade of sameness, it worked for him, I agree with Damo, go with your instinct on this....I'd keep him in class where he is and see how he goes if it were me.